Eye Witness Account of Jesus Dying by Hannah

Our 14 year old sister in Christ wrote this Good Friday reflection:

I was looking at my Lord on earth, my leader, and my savior as he was dying.  I was sobbing.  How could God let this happen?  As I was pondering this question, the sky suddenly went black.  I heard screams and yelps from the crowd.  People were panicking!  I remembered what the Lord had said about the Savior of the world dying and the world going black.  The woman next to me pulled two candles from her pocket and offered one to me.  The guards were lighting torches and the crowd was calming down.  Yet somehow the light did not bring comfort to me.  I felt cold and hollow inside as the candle light danced eerily on skull hill illuminating the three crosses.  As the wind played with my shawl, I sobbed silently.  Since the darkness had taken over no one moved but the guards and Pharisees.  They mocked and taunted Jesus asking, “Where is your God now?”  and “if you are God, why not save yourself?”

When the third hour of darkness struck Jesus cried out “Eloi, Eloi! Lema Sabachtini?” meaning “my God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”

Then he took his last shuddering breath.

Leave a Reply

